JC Brooks & The Uptown Sound
Beat Of Our Own Drum (LP+CD)
Rabbit Factory rf07

Track List
1. Baltimore is the New Brooklyn
2. The Beat of Our Own Drum
3. Hold You Back
4. Love One Another
5. 75 Years of Art Sex
6. How to Stop Someone Who's Stopped Loving You
7. He Does the Town
8. Here Comes the Fall
9. Alright
10. Berry Please
Like Otis fronting the Stooges, JC Brooks & the Uptown Sound are not just another throwback group and at no choice of their own came to be during an era of war, manifesting their style of urgent dance music with lyrics that address more than the standard “baby, baby” fare.

In their two years thus far the group has sold out numerous clubs, collaborated with an array of local heroes such as Syl Johnson and Tortoise’s Dan Bitney, won the Chicago Tribune’s annual “Best Band”, becoming a staple at local festivals and backing several vintage artists at the high profile Numero Group’s Twinight Soul Revue, which will be touring the East Coast this fall.

“It’s not hard to see the appeal of the quartet’s modernized old-school soul sound, which spans influences from Otis Redding and Wilson Pickett to Led Zeppelin. That combo requires a lot of firepower on stage, so when Brooks says he performs each show like it’s the last, you believe him.” – Matt Pais, Metromix/Chicago Tribune